~essays in love / idealization point 10-11

February 1, 2008

We locate inside another perfection that eludes us within ourselves, and through our union with the beloved, hope to maintain (against the evidence of all self-knowledge) a precarious faith in our species. Why did this awareness not prevent my fall into love? Because the illogicality and childishness of my desire did not outweigh my need to believe. I knew the void that romantic intoxication could fill, I knew the exihlaration that comes from identifying someone, anyone, as admirable. I must have needed to find in the face of another an integrity that I had never caught sight of within myself.

//alain de botton

Leave a Reply

